Author Topic: Does Super Star 223 Conversion Kit fit both Progressive and Universal Reloaders  (Read 10174 times)

Manuel

• Active Members
    • View Profile
Was the Super Star 223 Conversion kit designed for the Progressive model reloader or the Universal reloader or does it fit both?

Rolling Stone

• Active Members
    • View Profile
I would imagine it was for the Univ. machine as the shell plate would not permit the loaded round to drop out the bottom like a .38 special. I think it would need to leave the plate through the window the progressive doesn't have. I have no intimate knowledge of the SS conversion, this is a WAG.

333OKH

• Active Members
    • View Profile
The progressive would not have the adj straps on the base.
George Tucker
NRA Life Member
USMC Life Member

rbwillnj

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Star Machine Works
The Super Star kit includes two special shell locator straps, so yes, it was designed for a Universal.   And as Rolling Stone points out, since .223 is a rimless case there is no way to remove it without modification of the Progressive at the last station.

The shell locator straps are special because the tab rests directly on the steel base so it contacts the rim rather than the side of the case and stabilizes the tall cases.   One of the two special straps has an extension that fills the gap between the powder station and the bullet seating station.   Without this, the .223 cases have a tendency to rock and fall out of the reloader.

Star Rifle machines also use shorter shell locator straps with the tabs that rest on the steel base.

Bruce
Star Machine Works
Star, the original blue Press.  Made by machinist, not machines.
www.StarMachineWorks.com

Manuel

• Active Members
    • View Profile
Does anyone have pictures of the two shell straps that can be posted that will show the differences?
Does anyone make replacement 223 shell strap assemblies?

rbwillnj

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Star Machine Works