Author Topic: 38 Special load for 50 yards with W-231  (Read 88044 times)

Star73

• Active Members
  • Distinguished Pistol Shot Bullseye Master
    • View Profile
38 Special load for 50 yards with W-231
« on: August 14, 2008, 03:58:11 pm »
Can anyone provide the amount of 231 used in the 1911 converted to 38 special? I'm also interested in the type & amount of crimp.

I currently use 2.75 of bullseye & set the crimp by adjusting the seating die with a factory round inserted in that station.

Thanks!

Ron H

bummer7

• Active Members
    • View Profile
Re: 38 Special load for 50 yards with W-231
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 04:35:21 pm »
Hi Ron,

I have been experimenting this summer with similar loads for my 1911-38spl.  With ww231 powder, I loaded 50 rounds each using 2.8gr, 2.9gr, and 3.0gr for testing.  The bullet used is a swaged 148gr HBWC bullet (Hornady).  So far, I found 2.8gr of 231 reliable, accurate, easy on the slide, and the brass landed within two feet of me.  The 3.0gr load seemed too hot for my recoil spring and slide setup.  Not only did the slide come back with a sharp movement but the brass flew several feet further away than I expected. 

Now waiting an opportunity to chronograph the 2.8gr of ww231 load.  My guess is it'll chrono at or about 700fps out of my gun.   

Tried both roll and taper crimp.  Prefer taper crimp out of the two. 

-s

Star73

• Active Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008, 04:43:19 pm »
Was there a difference in accuracy between roll & taper crimps? I have a slide mounted red dot so am using slightly more BE than those without.  What is your sight-slide setup?

Thanks,
Ron

bummer7

• Active Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008, 06:36:51 pm »
I did not notice any differences or improvement between the roll or taper crimp.  Nor did it seem to make a difference in feeding.  Both crimps fed well with no issues or problems related to crimp.